Skip to main content

Our network
of experts

Our network
of experts

Spartaco Santi


Graduated as a Biologist from the University of Bologna in 1990, Spartaco started being involved as a researcher at the “Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche” (National Research Council – CNR) in 1994. Since then, he focused his research on basic cell biology, with a specific interest in defining new advanced microscopy technological approaches that can be adopted in the field of neuroscience and neurodegenerative diseases.

His experience over the years, allowed him to improve the development and use of imaging techniques. Among those, he worked on TIRF microscopy integrated with confocal resonant, Time-Lapse, and Lightsheet as well as optical super-resolution methods combined to transmission electron microscopy.

Spartaco Santi keeps moving forward with his research and, at the same time, he teaches several courses dedicated to applications of advanced optical microscopy. He also covers the position of Head of the Digital Microscopy Center at the Rizzoli Orthopaedics Institute.

Speakers & Tutors.


Paolo Bianchini  Italian Institute of Technology   – Genova

Stefano Bonora  CNR Institute for Photonics and Nanotechnologies – Padova

Marco Canossa  University of Trento 

Cristina Capanni  CNR Institute of Molecular Genetics – Bologna

Marco Castello  Italian Institute of Technology – Genova

Carola Cavallo  Rizzoli Orthopaedic Institute – Bologna

Francesca Cella Zanacchi  University of Pisa

Chiara Cordiglieri  National Institute of Molecular Genetics – Milano 

Cesare Covino  San Raffaele Scientific Institute – Milano

Roberta Crispino  TIGEM – Napoli

Marco Dal Maschio  University of Padova 

Takahiro Deguchi  Italian Institute of Technology   – Genova

Alberto Diaspro  Italian Institute of Technology and University of Genova 

Barbara Dozza  Rizzoli Orthopaedic Institute – Bologna 

Serena Duchi  University of Melbourne 

Mario Faretta IEO – Milano

Alessandro Gambardella  Rizzoli Orthopaedic Institute – Bologna 

Lucia Gardini  CNR National Institute of Optics – Firenze 

Zeno Lavagnino IFOM – Milano

Paolo Manzi  Fondazione Golinelli – Bologna 

Elisa Martella  CNR Institute of Organic Synthesis and Photoreactivity – Bologna 

Emanuele Martini  IFOM – Milano 

Elisabetta Mattioli  CNR Institute of Molecular Genetics – Bologna 

Davide Mazza San Raffaele Scientific Institute – Milano

Tommaso Mello  University of Firenze 

Dario Parazzoli  IFOM – Milano 

Chiara Peres CNR Institute of Molecular Genetics – Bologna 

Elena Polishiuck  TIGEM – Napoli 

Cristiano Rumio  University of Milano 

Sebastian Sulis Sato  Umeå University

Anna Tesei IRST – Meldola 

Andrea Tombesi  Università of Modena and Reggio Emilia

Chantal Usai  Italian Institute of Technology – Genova 

Giuseppe Vicidomini   Italian Institute of Technology – Genova 

Michele Zanoni  IRST – Meldola 

Alessio Zippo  University of Trento



Maurizio Abbate  Immagini e Computer

Francesco Bacchi  CellDynamics 

Paolo Barzaghi  Andor Technology 

Luca Cevenini  EVIDENT Europe GmbH

Marco Cicuttin  Nikon Instruments 

Pietro Cirigliano  Nikon Instruments 

Giacomo Cozzi  Nikon Instruments 

Björn Eismann  Luxendo 

Christian Feuillet  Miltenyi Biotec 

Andrea Giacomini  EVIDENT Europe GmbH

Giovanni Giozzet  CellDynamics 

Maria Giubettini  CrestOptics 

Luca Lanzaro  Oko-Lab 

Monika Loeschiner  Luxendo 

Luca Moccagatta  Nikon Instruments 

Francesco Musmeci  CellDynamics 

Simone Pasqua  CellDynamics 

Alessandro Rossetta  FLIM LABS

Alessandro Rossi  Crisel Instruments 

Andrea Santinelli  CrestOptics 

Alessandra Scarpellini  CrestOptics 

Andrea Tradori Cappai  Life Technologies